New privacy questions spark after a Facebook user claimed his phone pictures have been publicly shared on their Timeline without their consent, according to GlobalNews.ca.
â€œPersonal photos that I have decided not to share were uploaded without my permission,â€ said Adam Carroll, from Winnipeg, Canada. â€œI thought it was strange that I wasnâ€™t asked if they were allowed to do that.â€
The photo syncing feature, introduced in 2012, allows Facebook users to automatically upload their phone pictures to a private folder on the social networkâ€™s website.
â€œOnly you can see the photos youâ€™ve synced from your phone. Your photos are saved privately in a section of your Facebook Photos that only you can see,â€ Facebook states on their Help page. When you view your synced section, you can choose photos to share or send in a private message.â€
Security experts advise users to take caution in enabling this feature, since every photograph synced from a userâ€™s device may accidentally end up public or used for data mining purposes.